What We Do

Publications & Resources

Publications

Throughout the years The Kennedy Center Mobility Services has developed and published a variety of materials:

A Chance to Ride
Introducing Young Adults with Autism to Independent Travel

"A Chance to Ride" is a curriculum developed by The Kennedy Center to teach young adults on the autism spectrum to travel independently using public transportation. This product was created with funding generously provided by Autism Speaks

Curriculum
A Chance to Ride Introduction
A Chance to Ride Lesson 1
A Chance to Ride Lesson 2
A Chance to Ride Lesson 3
A Chance to Ride Lesson 4
A Chance to Ride Lesson 5
A Chance to Ride Lesson 6
Individualized Training Lesson
A Chance to Ride Resources & Credits

PowerPoint Presentations
Lesson 1 Level 2
Lesson 2 Level 1
Lesson 2 Level 2
Lesson 3 Level 1
Lesson 3 Level 2
Pedestrian Safety Video - Lesson 3 Level 2
Lesson 4 Level 1, 2, 3
Lesson 4 Level 4

Transportation Resources

National and State Agencies

Federal Transit Administration -- www.fta.dot.gov/civil_rights.html
Connecticut Association for Community Transportation -- www.cact.info
Community Transportation association of America -- www.ctaa.org
Connecticut Department of Transportation -- www.ct.gov/dot
Easterseals Project ACTION -- www.projectaction.org
Connectability -- www.connect-ability.com
American Public Transportation Association – www.apta.com
Association of Travel Instruction - www.travelinstruction.org

Connecticut Transportation Agencies

Housatonic Area Transit -- www.hartct.org
Southestern Area Transit -- www.seat.com
Greater Hartford Transit District- - www.hartfordtransit.org
Greater new haven transit District -- www.gnhtd.org
Central Connecticut Regional Planning Association -- www.ccrpa.org
Valley Transit District -- www.valleytransit.org
Windham Area Transit -- www.wrtd.net
Greater Waterbury Transit -- www.gwtd.org
CTTransit -- www.cttransit.com
Estuary Area Transit -- www.estuarytransit.org
Northwest Area Transit -- www.nwcttransit.com
Norwalk Transit -- www.norwalktransit.com
Greater Bridgeport Transit -- www.gogbt.com
or Local bus service

Other Resources

Regional Workforce Development Boards

The Work Place -- www.workplace.org
Northwest regional -- workforce www.nrwib.org
Eastern Connecticut -- Workforce Investment Board www.ewib.org
Capital Workforce -- www.capitalworkforce.org
Workforce Alliance -- www.workforcealliance.biz